1000 People = 1000 Wonders

Part Three

Meliha Avdic
5 min readDec 7, 2021

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Helping someone is a virtue. I think most people would agree with that statement. However, how many of you know people who will help others only in the way they think the other needs help? This is a good example of how good intentions can mean sweet FA. And sometimes, it’s not even good intentions, it’s just plain old stinky ego.

I am in the business of helping those less fortunate — as many of you might already know, I’m in the not-for-profit sector balancing between being an activist, a lobbyist and a humanitarian because I have to be if I sincerely want to help solve the problems. This means I have days when I’m just taking humanitarian aid to someone in serious need, and it would be rude not to sit down and chat with them. So I make time for a conversation. I usually just let them talk.

I remember one guy telling me how he applied to an organisation to get a cow. He already had three goats, but a cow would have made a huge difference to his family. I must have had a bleak look on my face because he went on to explain how they could have milk, and make cheese, and butter, and the cow might have offspring, and they could have meat, perhaps even make some money off it. It’s not that I didn’t know this, but, let’s be honest, how many of us ‘urban kids’ really think about this sort of stuff.

--

--

Meliha Avdic

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk