Dear Medium,

My preferences and advice to make the site more enjoyable

Meliha Avdic
4 min readNov 3, 2022

--

Photo by Toni Koraza on Unsplash

I wish I had more time to spend on Medium, but between taking care of an elderly person while I don’t have a car, writing my book (or editing), taking courses to become a better writer, taking care of a home and a whole bunch of other things, my time on Medium is limited. Therefore, it should not be a surprise that when I do get a chance to come on here, I want something good to read.

I recently had about an hour to spend reading. I opened Medium and found my home page flooded with articles from one person. Out of 20+ articles that I looked at, 14 were from the same author. I had to check out this person.

They publish about 3–4 articles a day!!!

No wonder the articles were not good.

I sat down and calculated how long it takes me to write an article, assuming I am writing about something that I already know, i.e. I’ve already done the research. Even if I could spend 40 hours a week on Medium, the most I could publish is about 3000–5000 words a week; whether one article or multiple articles.

On the other hand, even with everything that’s going on in my life, I could sit down and publish one bad article a day.

--

--

Meliha Avdic

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk