Do We, as a Society, Belong in Hell

Exploring us…

Meliha Avdic
3 min readDec 26, 2021

--

Photo by Owen Beard on Unsplash

I know this isn’t the season for such questions, but seriously, I have to ask.

Yes, currently, families are coming together (or as much as they can given the circumstances), people are being more generous than usual, we are exercising being good more than we would if it wasn’t the ‘Christmas’ season. But can we take a better look at ourselves? Honest, hard look at ourselves?

I am in the ‘charity’ sector (I know I’ve explained that the sector has many names, so I won’t go into that right now) and this is the busiest time of the year for anyone like me. Just before Christmas and until a few days after the New Year, we are swamped. So I am writing this on the go, feeling a little angrier than usual, so feeling really angry.

There are three categories of people that need help without a doubt: 1. Children, 2. Elderly, 3. Sick. In this article, I’d like to focus on the third category, the sick. What is wrong with us if we lose sympathy for the sick? I mean, there is something really wrong with our healthcare system.

I know this is a big issue for many countries. In Bosnia, in addition to the common issues, we have a corruption problem as well. I kid you not, and this is no exaggeration, medical professionals expect ‘a gift’, i.e. a bribe if you want care in a…

--

--

Meliha Avdic

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk