London Book Fair 2022

Booksneyland — Disneyland for book lovers

Meliha Avdic
6 min readApr 13, 2022

--

Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

Many years ago, I attended the London Book Fair (LBF) and knew that that’s where I belong. I think the event inspired me to write for others, not just for myself. But, the event was very different back then.

In 2020, when I booked my ticket to the LBF, I expected the same experience as I had the first time I attended. However, that year, LBF was canceled a week before it was scheduled to take place, and then in 2021 the fair took place online, which I expected would be different. And it was. It was still amazing, I really enjoyed the seminars and panels, and exchanging messages with others in the book industry. One of those was a publisher. I won’t go into details right now, but it did not turn out well. I think I trusted them because I met them through the fair. That was ‘my bad’.

This year, the event took place in person. I had an amazing time, however; it was not without problems. My first issue was purchasing the ticket. I went to the website…

--

--

Meliha Avdic

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk