Love to the People in London

Meliha Avdic
5 min readJul 18, 2024

We are more than meets the eye!

I didn’t take a photo of me in Leicester Square, so this will have to do

I did not think this would work. In fact, the only reason I even tried was to remove the ‘what if’. You know how annoying the ‘what if’ can be? Well, I didn’t want that. In short, I did this expecting it to be an epic failure, but I did it to say that I tried. I was wrong! — happy to admit!

About a year ago, I got this idea to make a unique document, a book of some sort about how people in London feel. I wanted to show that we’re not just faces moving through the crowded streets, shops, train, buses, or whatever. I wanted to show that each of us is a HUMAN! That there is more than the eye sees.

I think it all started with me being a bit annoyed with the whole

‘Hi, how are you?’

‘Fine, thanks. How are you?’

‘Fine thanks’

I know we’re busy, but goodness, there has to be more than this automated response, or prerecorded reply. And I think we need to strive to find it, show it, promote it. But, I did not think anyone else thought that. I thought most people were perfectly ‘fine’ with the ‘fine-thanks’ routine.

I had the journal I created printed, got the few copies of it that I ordered, and the moment I looked at them I saw myself asking people to fill in a page.

--

--

Meliha Avdic

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk