Why I Support Palestine

Meliha Avdic
10 min readOct 26, 2023
Photo by Ömer Yıldız on Unsplash

Before some very rude people accuse me of supporting Hamas, read again! Palestine! I support Palestine! Learn the difference. I support Palestine. I’ll talk about my views of Hamas bit later on. For now, I must say I resent, hate, loathe, being forced to condemn anyone just because…

That was the media’s first error. Do NOT assume that we will all buckle down. I will condemn when I am good and ready, i.e. satisfied with the evidence. I do NOT and never will condemn ANYONE blindly, or based on one side of the story. Where’s the justice in that?

And, I will NEVER ever condemn a whole group of people. We can condemn an organisation. But even then, we cannot assume that every member is equally evil. Nazis, for example, completely vicious organisation. Was every Nazi equally vicious?

In short, no nation should ever be condemned, that includes Palestine. Organisations can be condemned based on what they want and how they want to accomplish that. So, when it comes to organisations we look at their founding documents to see why they were set up, then we look at their objectives, and how they want to achieve those objectives. If their plan is to kill innocent people to get fame and fortune, that’s an example of a bad organisation. Very bad. But until we know this, we should not go around forcing people to condemn anyone. And if we have rules on what is…

--

--

Meliha Avdic

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk